LICMF Colour logopng

Event 3

© 2018 Lincoln International Chamber Music Festival

'For the Fallen'

July 27th, 7.30pm

Petwood Hotel, Woodhall Spa

Nav 2 right black large

Event 4

Event 2

Nav 2 left black large

For the Fallen brings together ten of the nation’s most powerful poems about war and remembrance and combines them with pieces of music specially chosen by Matthew Trusler – violin and Ashley Wass – piano. Featuring beloved works such as Laurence Binyon’s poignant Ode of Remembrance (“As the stars that are starry in the time of our darkness. To the end, to the end, they remain.”), paired with Debussy’s Clair de Lune; Rupert Brook’s patriotic sonnet, The Soldier, partnered with Elgar’s Chanson de Nuit; WB Yeats’s An Irish Airman Foresees His Death, combined with Copland’s Violin Sonata (composed in memory of a pilot lost in battle); and Edward Thomas’s Adlestrop (“Farther and farther, all the birds. Of Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire.”), accompanied by Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending, this promises to be a memorable evening of thought-provoking verse and inspiring music. Reciting the poems will be Richard Main of the Chapterhouse Theatre Company. Full details can be seen below.

Richard Main, actor  •  Matthew Trusler, violin  •  Ashley Wass, piano


IN ADVANCE: Adults £20 full price / £18 concessions

ON THE DOOR: Adults £20 / NO concessions

Student/child: £5.00 both in advance and on the door


MCMXIV - Philip Larkin


Prokofiev - 5 Melodies, Op. 35b / 5th movement


In Flanders Fields - John McRae


Bartok - Romanian Folk Dances


The Soldier - Rupert Brooke


Elgar - Chanson de nuit, Op. 15, No. 1


Drummer Hodge - Thomas Hardy


Janacek - Violin Sonata / 2nd movement


For the Fallen - Laurence Binyon


Debussy - Clair de Lune


Dulce Et Decorum Est - Wilfred Owen


Prokofiev - 1st Violin Sonata, Op. 80 / 2nd movement




Adlestrop - Edward Thomas


Vaughan Williams - The Lark Ascending


An Irish Airman Foresees His Death - WB Yeats


Copland - Violin Sonata / 1st movement


And Death Shall Have no Dominion - Dylan Thomas


Janacek - Violin Sonata / 3rd movement


Charge of the Light Brigade - Alfred Tennyson


Brahms - Scherzo